(un)dressing for breakfast

dressing for breakfast

Leven’s Shorehead bus terminal was a hub of activity at noon today when i boarded the X4 to take me back to Glenrothes.

the sun was toying with me. teasing me, mocking me. like a mischievous child playing peek-a-boo with me, from beneath a soft, fleecy blanket.  a blanket of cloud, stretched taut across the sky as if tucked neatly, with hospital corners at each corner of the horizon.

the bus is busy: filled with people of all ages and walks of life. to alleviate the boredom of this short, no-frills, business-as-usual bus journey, i study the people. their faces, their expressions and their body language.  they say ‘there is a book inside every one of us’. i look around and my attention falls upon a small, ash-haired woman, perched on a seat at the front of the bus. she looks anxious, fidgeting and flapping about like a little bird. i wonder what her tale is to tell…?

moments later, my attention is swiftly drawn to a young man, possibly in his late twenties. he is sitting, casually, picking his nose. i watch as he glances around before sneaking the contents of his fingernails into his mouth, when he thinks no one is looking:

‘i could be wrong, but, chances are you are single mate’ i think to myself, repulsed yet bemused by his juvenile actions. ‘hell, i know children who at 9 have outgrown this behaviour!’

i am seated at the back of the bus and i am surprised to see the amount of women who, at face-value, look well-groomed and made-up yet have seemingly overlooked the back of their heads when they fixed their hair this morning.  i run my hand through my hair and realise that i too possess hair like a burst couch. today i am one of these women. having reluctantly fallen out of bed and left my lover sleeping; i left without dressing for breakfast, i merely shook out the tangles and tugs from my hair.  it’s going to be one of these days…

as we draw into Glenrothes Bus Station, i take out my hairbrush and rake it through my long, dark hair.

the forecast for today is one full of life’s tangles and tugs: the scheduling and rescheduling of appointments; tending to two boisterous puppies; drinking coffee and writing; and visiting my mother.

 

(c) Kat McDonald 2014

image: https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/53809796/good-morning-portrait-photography-female?ref=market

Leave a Reply

